The purpose of this award is to recognize a member of ArSHA who has followed in the example established by Sandra Turek, M.S., CCC-A.

Sandra was the Assistant Chief of Audiology and Speech Pathology at the Veterans’ Affairs (VA) Medical Center in Phoenix, Arizona. While at the VA, she steadfastly advocated for the needs of military men and women. Sandra and her co-chair, Patsy Talamante, M.S, CCC-SLP led the effort to establish and require licensure for AuDs and SLPs in Arizona. In doing so, Sandra and Patsy were instrumental in bringing together the various stakeholders to further the professions. Sandra worked tirelessly for state licensure even though, at the time, she was exempt from state licensure law. After licensure was accomplished, Sandra served on the first licensure advisory committee and continued to serve the professions as a mentor, preceptor and leader through her work at the VA, ArSHA and ASHA until her retirement. Sandra was dedicated to the betterment of the professions and to safeguarding the health, safety and welfare of the public.

Nomination Criteria:
This award is open to all members of ArSHA who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their profession. Some examples of leadership that could qualify for this award:

    • Affecting change while serving in a leadership role within ArSHA (officers or committee chairs)
    • Affecting change while serving on a professional committee or board (other than ArSHA) at the local or national level
    • Developing or establishing a new program or services
    • Driving change for the advancement of the professions


An ArSHA member will submit a letter of nomination to the Honors Committee detailing why the person is being nominated.    OR
A non-ArSHA member will submit a letter of nomination to an ArSHA member detailing why the person is being nominated. The ArSHA member will then submit the letter to the Honors Committee on their behalf (sponsored nomination).

Letter(s) of nomination must be submitted by the deadline: Saturday, February 1, 2020.   Late nominations will not be considered and the deadline will not be extended.

Please submit the letter(s) of nomination to:
Karen LaBrozzi, ArSHA Honors and Awards Chair       Email:  honors@arsha.org

Selection Criteria:
The Honors Committee of ArSHA will review the nominations and choose an awardee.

A plaque will be given to the awardee at the annual ArSHA convention. Depending on the quality and volume of nominations, the award may not be given every year.


The ad setup form is only visible through the link in the purchase confirmation email or account.